Safety standards are standards designed to ensure the safety of products and services. Safety standards are voluntary until it is made mandatory via technical regulation by any relevant regulatory body.

In Malaysia, the Consumer Protection Act 1999 [Act 599] is under the purview of the Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affair (MDTCA). Part III Safety of goods and services of Act 599 states that, the Minister may by regulations prescribe the safety standards in respect of and goods or class of goods and any services or class of services and may prescribe different safety standards for different goods or services, or classes of goods or services.

Safety standards in relation to goods and services may relate to the performance, composition, contents, manufacture, processing, design, construction, finish, testing or packaging and the form and content of markings, warnings or instruction to accompany any goods or services.


Malaysian Consumer Product Safety

Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs (MDTCA)
No. 13, Level 4 (Podium 2)
Persiaran Perdana, Precinct 2
Federal Government Administration Center
: +603 - 8882 5886
: +603 - 8882 6960
: https://www.kpdnhep.gov.my
  • Today: 862
  • Yesterday: 1,317
  • Weekly: 8,063
  • Monthly: 28,709
  • Total: 2,444,860

Copyright © 2010 - 2020
Consumerism Standards Division, Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs